Deep Purple Announces “Turning to Crime” Cover Album

Deep Purple has announced the release of a new cover album titled Let’s move on to crime which will arrive on November 26.

The album, which was produced by Bob Ezrin, features the legendary hard-rock band that was originally recorded by Fleetwood Mac, Bob Dylan, Cream, Bob Seger, Little Feat, Ray Charles, the Yardbirds and more. Rumors surrounding the album had been circulating since early September, when Deep Purple launched a mysterious countdown on their website, accompanied by the words “Turning to Crime.”

The complete list of songs for Turning to crime can be seen below.

The opening track for the upcoming album, a cover of Love’s “7 and 7 Is”, can be heard below.

Turning to crime arrives on the heels of Phew!, the band’s 21st album, released in August 2020.

In December 2020, Deep Purple bassist Roger Glover revealed the band were working on a new project. “This whole COVID situation has meant we can’t tour,” he explained at the time. “We’ve been twiddling our thumbs, really, for over a year, and the idea was to eventually come back and do another album. And so we are just working in that direction. It’s so quick after doing the last album… maybe it’ll mess things up, but we’re going to try to do another album at some point next year. We are experimenting with stuff.

According to group members, they were working entirely remotely due to lockdown restrictions, sending songs to each other. “I had to audibly visualize the sounds that weren’t there,” drummer Ian Paice noted in a new promotional trailer for the album. “Basically I think we’re the ones having fun playing roots music,” added guitarist Steve Morse. “It’s purple.”

You can watch the trailer below.

Deep Purple, ‘Turning to Crime’ tracklist
1. “7 and 7 is” (love)
2. “Rockin ‘Pneumonia and the Flu Boogie Woogie” (Huey “Piano” Smith)
3. “Oh good” (Fleetwood Mac)
4. “Jenny takes a walk!” (Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels)
5. “Watch the river flow” (Bob Dylan)
6. “Let the good times roll” (Ray Charles and Quincy Jones)
7. “Dixie Chicken” (Small feat)
8. “Forms of things” (Yardbirds)
9. “The Battle of New Orleans” (Lonnie Donegan / Johnny Horton)
10. “Lucifer” (Bob Seger System)
11. “White room” (cream)
12. “Caught in the Act” (Medley: “Going Down” / “Green Onions” / “Hot ‘Lanta” / “Dazed and Confused” / “Gimme Some Lovin'”)

30 most anticipated rock albums of 2021

Source link

Kenneth T. Shippee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *