Dave Gahan (of Depeche Mode) and Soulsavers announce new cover album

Dave Gahan (of Depeche Mode) and Soulsavers announce new cover album

Impostor Release November 12 via Columbia

04 Oct 2021

Photograph by Spencer Ostrander and Joe Magowan

Bookmark and Share

Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan and Soulsavers (aka Rich Machin) have teamed up again and announced a new cover album, aptly titled Impostor. The album features covers of songs by Neil Young, Bob Dylan, PJ Harvey, Charlie Chaplin, Cat Power, Mark Lanegan and others. It will be released on November 12 via Columbia. The first single, a cover of the 1998 song “Metal Heart” by Cat Power, will be released this Friday. In the meantime, here is the tracklist and the album cover.

“When I listen to other people’s voices and songs, especially the way they sing them and perform the lyrics, I feel at home,” Gahan said in a press release. “I identify with it. It comforts me more than anything else. There isn’t an artist on the record who hasn’t moved me.

He adds: “I know we did something special, and I hope other people feel it and it takes them on a little trip, especially people who have loved music for years.”

Gahan and Soulsavers have released two more albums together, 2012’s Light the Dead Sea and 2015 Angels & Ghosts. Gahan and Machin produced Impostor and unlike their previous collaborations, which were recorded transatlantically, with the duo in different countries, the new album was recorded with a 10-person group at the Shangri-La Recording Studio in Malibu, Calif., in November 2019.

Impostor List of tracks:

1. The dark end of the street
2. Strange religion
3. Lilac wine
4. I held my baby last night
5.A man needs a maid
6. Metal heart
7. Close me
8. Where my love sleeps
9. Smile
10. The Desperate Realm of Love
11. Not yet dark
12. Always on my mind

Support Under the radar on Patreon.

Source link

Kenneth T. Shippee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *